Pajama Press

The Hill gets a 5 Star review from Youth Services Book Review

Posted on January 9th, 2017 by pajamapress

TheHill_WebsiteRating: (5 is an excellent or a Starred review) 5

What did you like about the book? Rich, city kid Jared Frederickson’s private jet crashes in the marshes of Northern Alberta, Canada. He’s rescued by a young Cree, Kyle Badger. What could have been a run of the mill survival story is turned on its head when the two unknowingly enter another world inhabited by a Cree legend called a Wihtiko and it’s hunting them.

Kyle and Jared encounter the creature as well as a shapeshifter, and face some facts about themselves and each other along the way.

The excitement builds throughout the story and leaves the reader breathless.

The inclusion of Cree language and legends makes this story even more substantial and worth reading.

Mild language and bodily functions are mentioned.

Anything you didn’t like about it? No

To whom would you recommend this book? (Read-alikes if you can think of them) Fans of Hatchet, Spirit Bear and My Side of the Mountain will really like this story, as will readers of Native legends….”
Maria Touet

Click here to read the full review