Pajama Press

Archive for January, 2017

Youth Services Book Review gives 4 stars to The Wolves Return: A New Beginning for Yellowstone National Park

Posted on January 16th, 2017 by pajamapress

thewolvesreturn_website“…What did you like about the book? This book illustrates the effect that the reintroduction of wolves to Yellowstone National Park has had on the ecosystem. The book demonstrates that predators at the top of the food chain have a profound impact.…The illustrations of the wildlife are beautifully rendered in lush colors. The book contains more information on “The Wolf in North America,” including a map, at the back. The end pages are filled with illustrations and the names of the plants and animals that are mentioned in the book. This is a great introduction for younger children to the impacts of animals on our world.

Anything you didn’t like about it? No

To whom would you recommend this book? This is a nice way to introduce ecosystems to young children. It could be used for school reports for lower elementary school children….
—Catherine Coyne

Click here to read the full review

The Hill is “an engaging adventure story” says School Library Connection

Posted on January 10th, 2017 by pajamapress

TheHill_Website“…There are some horror story qualities to this novel. Some of the Cree culture is explained, especially in terms of their beliefs about the spirit world and legends. This is an engaging adventure story about two boys on the verge of manhood. Recommended.”
—Laura McConnell

Read the full review in the January/February 2017 issue of School Library Connection

Sky Pig makes Kids’ BookBuzz reviewer Jewel want to make her own Plasticine pictures

Posted on January 10th, 2017 by pajamapress

SkyPig_Website“…I really liked Sky Pig but I think the illustrations were my favorite part. They were made out of plasticine, paper, fuzz, and even watch gears. The illustrations were so detailed, I couldn’t stop looking at the pages. These illustrations make me want to make my own plasticine pictures. I really like looking for the mouse and chicken with her egg on every page. I like that even when Ollie failed over and over again, he kept getting up and trying new ideas to help him fly. His friend Jack was a very good friend who was always there to help Ollie follow his dreams.”
—Jewel, Age 8

Click here to read the full review

Midwest Book Review calls The Wolves Return: A New Beginning for Yellowstone National Park “[a] beautifully illustrated book about the interconnected web of natural life”

Posted on January 9th, 2017 by pajamapress

thewolvesreturn_websiteThe Wolves Return: A New Beginning for Yellowstone National Park is a children’s nonfiction picturebook about the wildlife of the Yellowstone National Park in America….A beautifully illustrated book about the interconnected web of natural life, The Wolves Return is highly recommended for personal, school, and public library collections.”

Click here to read the full review

Moon at Nine is a Reviewer’s Choice for Midwest Book Review

Posted on January 9th, 2017 by pajamapress

Moon At Nine by Deborah Ellis - the true story of two girls who fell in love in post-revolution Iran “Based on interviews with a young woman who had to flee Iran due to her sexual orientation, Moon at Nine is a unique story on many levels…Any reader who wants to understand Iranian history through the experiences of young people who themselves are changing will find Moon at Nine a riveting, different read that rests firmly on compelling characters facing an array of changes. Highly recommended for young adult readers in grade 9 and up.”

Click here to read the full review

The Hill gets a 5 Star review from Youth Services Book Review

Posted on January 9th, 2017 by pajamapress

TheHill_WebsiteRating: (5 is an excellent or a Starred review) 5

What did you like about the book? Rich, city kid Jared Frederickson’s private jet crashes in the marshes of Northern Alberta, Canada. He’s rescued by a young Cree, Kyle Badger. What could have been a run of the mill survival story is turned on its head when the two unknowingly enter another world inhabited by a Cree legend called a Wihtiko and it’s hunting them.

Kyle and Jared encounter the creature as well as a shapeshifter, and face some facts about themselves and each other along the way.

The excitement builds throughout the story and leaves the reader breathless.

The inclusion of Cree language and legends makes this story even more substantial and worth reading.

Mild language and bodily functions are mentioned.

Anything you didn’t like about it? No

To whom would you recommend this book? (Read-alikes if you can think of them) Fans of Hatchet, Spirit Bear and My Side of the Mountain will really like this story, as will readers of Native legends….”
Maria Touet

Click here to read the full review

Adrift at Sea is one of the “Top 10 Books to Explore Themes of Immigration and Refugees” says readingpowergear.wordpress.com

Posted on January 9th, 2017 by pajamapress

AdriftAtSea_website“This is the beautiful true story of a family’s survival in the face of overwhelming odds as they leave Vietnam in search of a new life….The amazing life-like illustrations and large format makes it an engaging read-aloud. I appreciated the historical facts and real photos of Tuan in his family included at the back of the book.”

Click here to read the full review

Adrift at Sea is “highly recommended” by Midwest Book Review

Posted on January 9th, 2017 by pajamapress

AdriftAtSea_websiteTuan Ho was only six years old when his family embarked on a dangerous voyage to escape Vietnam and became part of the ‘boat people’ fleeing their homeland: his story is told in a non-fiction narrative that captures the experience for young readers. Highly recommended.”

Click here to read the full review

Musings of a YA Reader gives When the Rain Comes a positive review

Posted on January 9th, 2017 by pajamapress

WhenRainComes_website“…I liked When the Rain Comes even more. The illustrations and text in this book work really well together to highlight Malini’s feelings and show the importance of rice to her village and the dangers of a monsoon. The back of the book tells a little bit more about Sri Lanka and how reliant the country’s population is on rice.”

Click here to read the full review

A Good Trade “can be used to launch a discussion about gratitude” says Musings of a YA Reader

Posted on January 9th, 2017 by pajamapress

A Good Trade written by Alma Fulleton, illustrated by Karen Patkau“…Overall, I liked A Good Trade, and believe that it can be used to launch a discussion about gratitude and what it’s like to live in a third world country.”

Click here to read the full review